Go back

Science champions selected to promote African S&T

The African Union has selected 10 heads of state to act as champions for higher education, science and technology on the continent. Their committee will be responsible for implementing the AU’s Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA).

AU Commission chairwoman Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma named the committee during a meeting of the Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture in Cape Town, South Africa, in October. The announcement flew under the radar until its publication on the Ruforum website on 10 November.

Two presidents from each African region were selected for the committee, which will be led by president Macky Sall of Senegal. He is joined by Mauritius’ scientist-come-president Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, as well as the presidents of Malawi and Namibia In Southern Africa, Sierra Leone in West Africa, Egypt and Tunisia in North Africa, Kenya in East Africa, and Chad and Gabon in Central Africa.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.