Go back

SAMRC gives go-head to new board

The South African Medical Research Council announced the members who will make up its board of directors for the next three years on 22 November.

Mike Sathekge, the head of the Nuclear Medicine Department at the University of Pretoria, is the chairman. Quarraisha Abdool Karim was appointed vice-chairwoman. Abdool Karim is associate scientific director at the Centre for the Aids Programme of Research in South Africa in Durban.

The 16-member board consists mostly of senior health researchers. Thirteen are researchers, whose expertise includes medical physics, psychology, paediatrics, immunology, occupational health, genetics and pathology. The scientific board members are Elizabeth Anne Bukusi, Rachel Chikwamba, Mark Cotton, Zilungile Kwitshana, Johnny Mahlangu, William Rae, Brandon Shaw, Linda Skaal, Tholene Sodi, Sithembiso Velaphi and Lindiwe Zungu.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.