Go back

Eureka finalists announced

Suzanne Cory, president of the Australian Academy of Science, has been named as a finalist in the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes, it was announced on 27 July.

Cory is one of three candidates in the Leadership in Science category. The others are Mark von Itzstein of Griffith University and Frank Caruso from the University of Melbourne.

Caruso has developed nanotechnology-enabled materials for application in biomedical research and Itzstein has developed the anti-influenza drug Relenza. He also established the Institute for Glycomics, the only institute of its kind in the southern hemisphere.

The prizes honour science excellence in four categories: research and innovation, leadership and commercialisation, science communication and journalism, and school science.

Fifty-six finalists will vie for the top honours and a share of more than AU$180,000. Winners will be announced on 28 August.