Go back

Committee appointed to refresh ERC’s governing body

Image: Word Economic Forum [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0], via Flickr

Group will pick next members of ERC Scientific Council

Six scientists have been tasked by the European Commission with renewing the membership of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council, the EU’s flagship research funder. The Scientific Council is an independent academic body that sets the strategic direction of the ERC.

Carl-Henrik Heldin (pictured), who chairs the board of the Nobel Foundation, has been appointed chair of the committee. He will be joined by Barbara Flückiger from the University of Zurich; Kirsten Gram-Hanssen from the University of Aalborg; Michał Karoński from Adam Mickiewicz University; Carlos Martínez Alonso from the Spanish National Research Council; and Mira Mezini from the Technical University of Darmstadt.

This article is only available to *Research Professional subscribers. If you are a subscriber you can read the article in full on researchprofessional.com