Go back

Ten EU governments yet to sign pact on academic freedom


Germany-led Bonn Declaration still missing signatures despite end-2020 target

The Bonn Declaration, an attempt by the German government to “guarantee the freedom of research” in the EU, is still missing the signatures of ten EU research ministers, falling short of the original intention to gather all 27 signatures by the end of 2020.

Germany’s federal research ministry told Research Professional News that 17 EU countries had signed the text as of 13 January. The European Commission, Israel, Norway and Switzerland have also signed.

This article is only available to *Research Professional subscribers. If you are a subscriber you can read the article in full on researchprofessional.com

Alternatively, Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.