Go back

Universities establish tri-national campus

Five German, French and Swiss universities in the upper Rhine region have agreed to establish a “European Campus” to combine their research and teaching activities.

The European Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities (Eucor), comprising the Universities of Basel, Freiburg, Haute-Alsace and Strasbourg and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, signed an agreement to become a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation on 9 December. As an EGTC, they will be able to apply for funding as a single entity and host joint professorships and departments. 

In a statement, Hans-Jochen Schiewer, president of Eucor, said the move would significantly enhance the confederation’s international visibility. Eucor would “create common structures everywhere where we see the opportunity”, Schiewer said, adding that its 15,000 researchers and 115,000 students would have “unique possibilities for cooperation”.

This article is only available to Research Professional News subscribers or Pivot-RP users.

If you are a Research Professional News subscriber you can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.