Go back

Universities switch allegiance in 1994 Group exodus

The universities of Durham, Exeter, York and Queen Mary, University of London, have left the 1994 Group of smaller research-intensive universities to join the Russell Group. Russell Group chairman Michael Arthur said the institutions had been invited to join having demonstrated that they “excel in research, innovation and education and have a critical mass of research excellence across a wide range of disciplines”. The move boosts the Russell Group’s membership to 24 institutions and leaves the 1994 Group with 15.

This article is only available to Research Professional News subscribers or Pivot-RP users.

If you are a Research Professional News subscriber you can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.