Go back

Reelected science minister looks to ‘deliver Brexit’

Images: Policy Exchange [CC BY 2.0], via Flickr; The Royal Society

Chris Skidmore wins Kingswood seat as his predecessors Sam Gyimah and Jo Johnson leave theirs

Election night has seen two former science ministers quit or lose their seats while the current holder of the post, Chris Skidmore, kept hold of his.

Skidmore, who was re-appointed science minister for the second time in September 2019, celebrated on Twitter after receiving 27,712 votes from his Kingswood constituency, ahead of Labour’s Nicola Bowden-Jones, on 16,492.

This article is only available to *Research Professional subscribers. If you are a subscriber you can read the article in full on researchprofessional.com