Go back

Mathias to lead Commons science committee until the autumn

Tania Mathias, the Conservative MP for Twickenham, will replace Nicola Blackwood as chairwoman of the House of Commons Science and Technology Committee on a temporary basis.

The committee announced Mathias’ appointment in a tweet on 19 July. She will be responsible for chairing the committee’s meetings until the election for Blackwood’s permanent replacement is held in the autumn.

Mathias, an ophthalmologist, was first elected as an MP in May 2015, after defeating the Liberal Democrat Vince Cable, who was business secretary in the previous coalition government.

This article is only available to Research Professional News subscribers or Pivot-RP users.

If you are a Research Professional News subscriber you can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.