Go back

East Asian research area programme launched

The Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) has officially inaugurated the East Asia Science and Innovation Area Joint Research Program (e-ASIA JRP), which aims to replicate the European Research Area.

The programme, launched on 19 July, aims to accelerate science and technology research in East Asia.

It targets common challenges including the environment, natural disaster prevention and infectious diseases. Advanced materials, nanotechnology, plant science and renewable energy are also among the fields in which cooperation is sought from three or more participating countries.

Eligible participants are the member countries of the East Asian Summit: Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, and the US.

The Japanese government proposed the programme in October 2010. The e-ASIA JRP’s first annual board meeting was held on 28 June 2012 in Singapore when the resolution was made to formally launch the programme.