Go back

UN calls up academy members

Representatives from the International Council for Science (ICSU) and The World Academy of Sciences will sit on a 10-member panel to improve technology transfer in the developing world.

The UN announced the names of its Technology Facilitation Mechanism for Achieving Sustainable Development Goals’ advisory panel on 6 January. ICSU executive director Heide Hackmann is among those named, as is Romain Murenzi, executive director of TWAS and former Rwandan science minister.

The mechanism was announced in July 2015 and is intended to help developing nations access science funding and technology, as well as improving the use of data in policymaking. It is seen as one of the major ways in which the UN can progress its Sustainable Development Goals, confirmed in September as the major development agenda for the next 15 years.

This article is only available to Research Professional News subscribers or Pivot-RP users.

If you are a Research Professional News subscriber you can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.