Go back

University of London members to apply for university status

Twelve University of London institutions, including University College London and the London School of Economics and Political Science, are to apply for independent university status.

This follows the passing of the University of London Act 2018 on 20 December, which enables UoL member institutions to seek university status in their own right while remaining part of the federation. Previously, institutions wishing to hold university status were required to disaffiliate from the University of London group, as Imperial College did in 2006.

A spokeswoman for the University of London told HE that the passing of the bill allowed for these institutions, which are “universities in all but name”, to correct a “historical anomaly” that prohibits UoL members from having the university title.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.