Go back

Five Africans named for UN advisory board on sustainability

Five researchers from Africa are among the 26 eminent scientists appointed last week to provide science, technology and innovation advice on sustainable development to United Nations executives.

UN secretary-general Ban-Ki Moon announced the new advisory board on 18 October. Its formation was a suggestion in a 2012 report from a UN high-level panel on sustainability.

The members are drawn from all walks of science. Three of the five Africans on it live and work on the continent: Tanya Abrahamse, chief executive officer of the South African National Biodiversity Institute; Wole Soboyejo, president of African University of Science and Technology in Nigeria; and Judi Wakhungu, professor of energy resources management and first cabinet secretary in Kenya’s Ministry for Environment, Water and Natural Resources.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.