Go back

New Zealand academics honoured in New Year list

New Zealand academics are among those named in the Queen’s 2013 New Year’s Honours.

Ivan Donaldson, former president of the Neurological Society of New Zealand, and David Pool, an emeritus professor at the National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis at the University of Waikato, were made Companions of the New Zealand Order of Merit for their respective work in neurology and demography. Linda Tuhiwai Smith, pro-vice chancellor Maori, also at Waikato, was made a Companion of the order for services to Maori and education.

Ian Campbell, associate professor at the Peter Mac hospital, was made an officer of the order for services to breast cancer treatment and research, and Glynnis Cropp, an emeritus professor at Massey University, was made an officer for services to humanities research.

Science writer Vicki Hyde was made a member of the order for services to science while Vincent Neall, a professor at Massey University, was honoured for services to Earth science.