Go back

Fresh faces appointed to ERC scientific council

A Nobel laureate and two other prominent researchers have been appointed to the independent governing body of the European Research Council, which sets its funding strategy.

Ben Feringa (pictured), a researcher at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands who shared the 2016 Nobel prize in chemistry, was among three people appointed to the ERC’s Scientific Council by the European Commission on 19 December.

The other two were Lene Vestergaard Hau, a physicist at Harvard University in the United States, and Manuel Arellano, an economist at the Centre for Monetary and Financial Studies in Madrid. The three will take up their positions in 2019 and 2020, when the terms of some existing members end.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.