Go back

Research network planned for eastern nations

The EU is to raise €13 million to develop an online research network within neighbouring countries that fall under the Eastern Partnership.

The European Commission signed an agreement with the networking organisation Géant on 11 June, to create a network specifically for research and education. The countries that will be covered are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

The network, called EaPConnect, will provide access to and exchange of research data, as well as improving internet access to aid international cooperation. An estimated 2 million scientists, academics and students at over 700 institutions will be covered, Géant said in a statement.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.