Go back

Academic freedom pledge now signed by every EU member state

Image: Osajus [CC BY 2.0], via Flickr

German initiative also wins backing of six non-EU countries

Every EU member state has now signed the Bonn Declaration on Freedom of Scientific Research, an EU document which states that the freedom of scientific research “is a universal right” and sets out the role of governments and institutions to uphold it.

In signing the declaration, all 27 EU member states as well as the European Commission, Canada, Israel, Mexico, Norway, Switzerland and the Ukraine made a non-binding commitment to uphold academic freedom, at a time when “there are increasing reports of violations of this freedom around the world, including in Europe”.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.