Go back

Royal Society of Edinburgh picks 2016 award winners

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has announced eight recipients of its annual awards for academic excellence.

Nasar Meer, reader in comparative social policy and citizenship at the University of Strathclyde, was awarded the Thomas Reid Medal, the society’s prize for early-career researchers, for his research on Muslim identities, race equality and nationalism.

Three researchers have been recognised for their work in public engagement: Iain Stewart, professor of geosciences communication at the University of Plymouth and president of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society; Helen Bridle, assistant professor at school of engineering and physical sciences at Heriot-Watt University; and Anthony Doyle, professor of physics at the University of Glasgow.

This article on Research Professional News is only available to Research Professional or Pivot-RP users.

Research Professional users can log in and view the article via this link

Pivot-RP users can log in and view the article via this link.